June 22, 2023 The Rotary Club of Ladysmith saw the installation of Club Officers for the Rotary Year 2023-2024.  The Venue was the Jas Café on Fourth Ave. with an exquisite dinner menu. Highlighting this night this was Don Mercer as outgoing president passing the gavel to the incoming president Gerry Beltgens. The evening was MC’d by Joan Phillips. Installation of the Officers was performed by AG Nora Dowsett.
I spoke with Don about his year and the accomplishments in his year. He mentioned the transition from Zoom meetings to hybrid meetings and the challenges many clubs were facing. The Rotary club of Ladysmith came through the pandemic with money in the bank, a new home and new members. The club was acknowledged at the district conference for gaining more members than it lost.  Don handed over a club that supported many important Ladysmith programs with volunteers and funding. All this and the Foundation commitment was surpassed in his year.
In speaking with Gerry there is only one word that describes him, and that is service. He is all about creating awareness, working together to build fellowship, to improve local and international communities. Rotarians are People of Action that unite to create a lasting change.
Gerry is looking forward to community engagement, international projects and to add new members to facilitate the growth of the club so that it can be of service to the growing needs of the community.
Before the evening came to a close Don presented a number of awards to acknowledge the service of many members. Recipients were Michael Furlot, Eileen Beltgens and Eowyn Sinclair.  Rotarian of the year went to Sherrie Jamieson.
The officers for 2023-2024 are as follows:
President                                                           Gerry Beltgens
President Elect                                                  Marshall Butcher
Past President                                                   Don Mercer
Secretary                                                           Sherrie Jamieson
Treasurer                                                           Brian King
Directors                                                           Suzanne Otterson
                                                                          Eowyn Sinclair
                                                                           Kelly Daniels
                                                                           Bob Mack